• Home
  • CEPT and licensing

CEPT & Licensing

Guide for using an amateur radio station by a foreign radio amateur during a temporary visit to Estonia

(by Estonian Technical Surveillance Authority)


A foreign radio amateur, who is the holder of a valid CEPT Amateur Radio Licence (see CEPT Recommendation T/R 61-01), can operate his amateur station up to three (3) months in Estonia with the rights granted by the national B class qualification without any extra registration, application or charge. For operating an amateur radio station with the rights granted by the national A class qualification, also for more than three months stay in Estonia a licence from Estonian Technical Surveillance Authority (hereinafter ETSA) is required (the application procedure is given below). 

The licensee shall observe the provisions of CEPT Recommendation T/R 61-01 and relevant parts of the Estonian Amateur Radio Regulations. The holder of a valid CEPT amateur radio licence can use amateur radio equipment in Estonia during his(her) temporary stay in the country on all allocated frequency bands from 1.8MHz to 1.3GHz (incl. 70.0-70.3 MHz) in accordance with the IARU Region 1 band plan and recommendations. The maximum transmitting output power regardless of mode is limited to 20dBW (100W).

The call sign of a visitor shall consist of the following parts:

prefix letters «ES» and a digit showing the location of an amateur station in territory of Estonia* during the temporary stay <stroke> ( / ) own home call sign and <stroke> ( / ) «M» (when mobile) or «P» (when portable - used only when operating with VHF/UHF/SHF handheld equipment) or prefix letters «ES» and <stroke> ( / ) own home call sign <stroke> ( / ) «AM» (when airborne mobile).

* digits used for formation of a call sign in the different administrative districts of Estonia (see the map here):


        ES1   Tallinn (The Capital City Area);

        ES2   Harju county (except Tallinn);

        ES3   Lääne, Rapla and Järva counties;

        ES4   Lääne-Viru and Ida-Viru counties;

        ES5   Jõgeva and Tartu counties;

        ES6   Põlva, Valga and Võru counties;

        ES7   Viljandi county;

        ES8   Pärnu county;

        ES0   Hiiu and Saare counties.

For all other cases not mentioned above the amateur radio licence from ETSA is required in order to install and use an amateur radio station in Estonia. For full information please contact the ETSA Frequencies Management Dept - see info below.

When applying for an amateur radio licence in Estonia the following documents must be submitted:

1. Application form (see here);

2. Copy of the Qualification Certificate:

2.1.  ETSA shall recognise a Harmonised Amateur Radio Examination Certificate (HAREC) issued in a foreign country in accordance with CEPT Recommendation T/R 61-02;

2.2.  ETSA may fully or partly recognise the qualification certificates issued by other countries if the requirements for examination certificate meet the requirements of the amateur radio examination in Estonia.

The application documents shall be addressed to:

Estonian Technical Surveillance Authority
Frequencies Management Department
Ms Ulvi Valdaru

Sõle 23A, 10614 Tallinn, ESTONIA

Telephone:   +372 667 2124


The applicant will receive the licence from the office of ETSA after the payment of the licence fee.

For information about the payment details please contact ETSA - info above.